Originally built in 1895 by McQuillen and Co., the Meaford Museum was once home to the town’s Pumping Station. A few years following its construction, a brick chimney was added in an effort to make the facility more efficient.

an old photo of the museum

In 1924, an electric pump and auxiliary gas pump were added to the building. Eventually, the Public Utilities Departments was relocated to the pumping station and the building was then on referred to as the “Power House”. During the 1940’s, the brick chimney was removed and both the Public Utilities and Public Works departments vacated the building, leaving it unoccupied.

Having been vacant for years, the Power House was converted into a museum, primarily through the efforts of the Kent Women’s Institute. The first collections for the museum were donated by the Sing and Godfrey families.

Opening its doors in 1961, the Meaford Museum was a huge success with guests from all around the globe coming to see some of the unique and one of a kind artifacts housed in the museum. Due to the ever expanding collections and tourists, several renovations were required to increase room sizes and display space, improve lighting, and update the building itself. In 1997 several renovations went underway along with a front addition to accommodate the museums foyer and general store, generously donated by The Apple Harvest Craft Show, The Kiwanis Club, Lions Club and Kinsmen Club.

The following year, an addition was added to house the temporary collection of the 1938 Bickle Maple Leaf Fire truck donated by the Meaford Fire Department. This addition was funded by the local Kiwanis Club and built by local residents and contractors. The most recent renovation to the museum was the introduction of the Farm Shed on the Northern grounds of the museum. The Farm Shed houses numerous large farming tools and was made possible from the late Joe Walker’s estate.

Today, the Meaford Museum displays various artifacts and collections about our local and nations’ history. There are four rooms to explore and learn about our history and now also serves the Townships of St. Vincent and Sydenham creating a large diverse area from which to draw stories and artifacts.

The Meaford Museum’s gallery, educational and volunteer programs as well as our research and genealogy material promote a way to reflect and connect with our past and our heritage. Visit the general store and discover some of the amazing local artisans from the Municipality of Meaford.

We are pleased to welcome you to the Meaford Museum and are excited for you to share in our history in the making.

phone iconContact Us