Volunteers are important in our community. The Community Builder Award is presented each year to a local volunteer who has helped shape and promote our community through their work. You can nominate a volunteer to receive this award. The recipient is selected by Council, and presented with the award at the volunteer appreciation event. Above all, this award recognizes those who strive to make the Municipality of Meaford an incredible place to live, work and play.


Nominees must be a volunteer who has displayed continued dedication to a cause or causes that have benefited the citizens of Meaford. Examples include, but are not limited to:

  • Exemplary service with a community group or special interest group
  • Exemplary service on a committee or local board
  • Organizing and/or running events or other activities that contribute to the unique cultural atmosphere of the community

Nominees must be active volunteers or have been an active volunteer within the past five (5) years. Nominees must volunteer individually or for a community group or special interest group based in the municipality. Consideration may also be given to individuals associated with organizations based outside of the municipality, so long as their efforts can be shown to have provided a material benefit to Meaford and its citizens.

Current members of the Council of the Municipality of Meaford are ineligible to receive the award. Current employees of the Municipality of Meaford are ineligible to receive this award, except where their volunteer efforts can be shown to be fully distinct from their paid position.

Prior recipients of the award cannot be nominated for another five (5) years.

 Make a Nomination

The nomination period for the Municipality of Meaford's 2022 Community Builder Award has now closed.

Check back for nomination information in late spring 2023. 

 Recipient Selection
All nominations will be reviewed by the Municipality of Meaford Council during a closed session of Council. Council may elect not to select an award recipient in any given year if no nominations are deemed to be appropriate. Identifiable information regarding nominated individuals shall not be released to the public at any time. Only the name of the individual receiving the award shall be made public. If no nominations are received, Council may, at their discretion, present the award to an individual of their choosing.
2022 Winners

Wayne Challis accepting his award from Lieutenant Governor Elizabeth Dowdeswell and Mayor Barb Clumpus

2022 Community Builder Wayne Challis with Lieutenant Governor Elizabeth Dowdeswell and Mayor Barb Clumpus

The 2022 Community Builder Award was awarded to Wayne Challis, Louis Breadner, and Helen Hume. 

 2021 Winners

picture of Julia Tichbourne, Gilles Hache and Mayor Clumpus 

2021 Community Builders recipients, Gilles Hache and Julia Tichbourne with Mayor Barb Clumpus

The Municipality of Meaford established the Community Builder Award in 2019 to acknowledge outstanding individuals who have helped shape and promote the municipality through their devotion to volunteering on behalf of Meaford and its residents.



phone iconContact Us