meaford votes logo

2022 Municipal Elections 

The upcoming Municipal Election to elect a Mayor, Deputy Mayor, Councillors and School Board Trustees will be held in October 2022. The Municipality of Meaford will be voting in-person or by mail.

Residents wanting to vote by mail must register before Thursday September 15, 2022. To register, please e-mail or call 519.538.1060 ext. 1100. 

You can also sign up for the elections mailing list if you'd like to receive a regular e-mail with election information. Please visit the subscribe page and sign up for Election 2022 updates. 

Please click the icons below for more information. 

dark blue check mark logo with "Voters" text below            click here to access candidate information          click here to access third party voter information


Unofficial List of Candidates

Candidates who have filed their nomination paperwork will appear below during the nomination period between May 2, 2022 and August 19, 2022 (at 2 p.m.). Following the close of the nomination period, the Clerk will review all nominations and prepare a certified list of candidates, and declare any candidates acclaimed, if necessary.

Unofficial List of Candidates - May 20, 2022

General Information

The Municipality of Meaford's Election Procedures for the 2022 Municipal and School Board Election are available to the public for reference. 

2022 Municipal and School Board Election Procedures


The Municipal Elections Act, 1996, as amended, requires the Clerk to have regard for the needs of electors and candidates with disabilities and to ensure that all voting places are accessible to all electors. 

2022 Municipal & School Board Accessible Election Plan

Grey County Compliance Audit Committee

The Municipalities of Grey County are recruiting experienced professionals for appointment to the Grey County Compliance Audit Committee (GCCAC) for the 2022 Municipal Election.

Up to seven members will be appointed to the GCCAC and will serve on retainer. If a Member Municipality receives either a Clerk’s Report or an Application, the Clerk (of the Host Municipality) shall, within 10 days, arrange for three GCCAC members to convene a Sitting Committee to consider the Clerk’s Report or Application. The selected GCCAC members shall be required to participate in all Sitting Committee meetings and any other proceedings pertaining to the Clerk’s Report or Application. 

Applicants should have the ability to understand and apply the election campaign finance provisions of the MEA and must be considered impartial with respect to their ability to fulfill their responsibilities. The GCCAC will be established by October 1, 2022 and continue until 2026.

GCCAC Terms of Reference

GCCAC Rules of Procedure

Completed Application Forms can be submitted by June 22, 2022 by email to or by mail to:

Grey County Clerk
Corporation of the County of Grey
595 9th Ave East
Owen Sound, Ontario N4K 3E3


If a qualified elector believes on reasonable grounds that a candidate has contravened the Municipal Elections Act relating to election campaign finances, they can make an application for a compliance audit, which will then be considered by the Compliance Audit Committee. 


Be sure to check this page often for all updates and information regarding the 2022 Municipal & School Board Elections.  If you have any questions or have any comments about the election, please do not hesitate to contact the Office of the Clerk:

Matt Smith, Clerk
519-538-1060 ext. 1115 

phone iconContact Us